Thai Grilled Chicken Wings

19 May

A common question people have been asking me during my pregnancy is whether or not I’ve been getting any weird cravings, and the answer is no.  I haven’t really felt the urge to eat anything super strange like pickles and ice cream (although there was one day where I ate 5 pickles followed by a chocolate chip cookie for lunch).  My cravings have been more reasonable like tomatoes, avocadoes and olive tapenade.   The only thing is, when I do get a craving for something I have to eat it ASAP and in large quantities.  For example, I went through an entire week where I ate guacamole almost every day….sometimes twice a day.  One of my more recent cravings has been for my dad’s grilled chicken wings.

My dad makes awesome grilled chicken wings.  He spent much of my childhood perfecting this recipe, which means we had grilled chicken wings ALL the time.  Birthdays, Easter, Christmas….if there was a special occasion or a gathering of people, there were chicken wings.  So when I got this craving I texted my dad for the recipe.  He ended up not getting back to me until the next day and, as I mentioned earlier, when I crave something I need to have it immediately.  So I tried to recreate his wings without any of his guidance and they actually turned out pretty darn good.  Here is MY version of my dad’s delicious “Thai-style” grilled chicken wings.

20140513-131942.jpg

2 lbs chicken wings
4 tbsp mushroom soy sauce
2 tbsp ketchup
2 tbsp oyster sauce
2 tbsp lemon juice
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup cilantro, finely chopped

 

1. Combine all ingredients in a big bowl and mix well. Let marinade for at least one hour or up to 24 hours.
2. Bake chicken wings on a foil lined baking pan at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.
3. While wings are baking, preheat gas grill to medium-high heat.
4. Transfer par-baked wings to the grill and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side. I like my grilled wings extra charred so I leave them on there for more like 5 minutes.

**I later found out that his recipe also includes black pepper, white pepper, Javin brand curry powder, and Knorr granulated chicken buollion**

Enjoy!

20140513-132001.jpg

 

20140513-132030.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

Running for Solidarity

Our adventures in food and travel

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Pittsburgh Happy Hour

Our adventures in food and travel

Dinner Plan-it

Our adventures in food and travel

Pittsburgh TasteBuds

Our adventures in food and travel

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

adotbrown

Music. Movies. TV. And My Inane Take on Them in Society.

