I’d like my pizza hot, please

30 Oct

What is the deal with the cold cheese on pizza? I mean, seriously?!

If you guys follow the twitter page at all, you know that Alex and I were a bit indulgent last weekend. We ate Chicago-style beef sandwiches, waffles, Chinese food and tacos. Most importantly, we ate PIZZA! If there is one thing I could eat everyday it would be a New York style slice with pepperoni and banana peppers. My favorite slice in the ‘burgh? Definitely at Pizza Sola.

We ventured down to the Southside on Saturday night looking forward to a fun night of drinking and eating. After a few beers and some snacks (aka an entire Primanti’s sandwich with a fried egg), we thought it would be a great idea to end our night at Pizza Sola. Yum! It’s been so long since we’ve eaten there that I almost forgot how good it was. The slices there are pricey but it is soooo worth it.

Exhibit A: Pizza Sola

20131030-230139.jpg

Then, instead of ending the night on a good note we decided to also go to Beto’s on Banksville. I had never been to Beto’s but I have heard rave reviews about this place. People seem to love the concept of having cold cheese on their pizza. Although I wasn’t completely keen on the idea, I wanted to try it anyway. We ordered two slices to go.

So this is how it’s done: First, they bake a large square pizza with just sauce. They take the pizza out of the oven and cut it into individual square slices. Then they put the pizza slices in a takeout box, quickly throw on a pile of shredded cheese (and other desired toppings), and close the box. That’s it.

I was eager to dig into my pizza with mushrooms when we arrived home but when I opened the box and saw the heaping pile of cold cheese I was immediately turned off. Not only was the cheese not melted at all but they used CANNED mushrooms! I couldn’t believe that a place of such popularity didn’t use fresh ingredients.

Anyway, I can’t say that I gave Beto’s a fair chance because I really couldn’t bring myself to eat it as is. I ended up putting it in the oven for about 15 to let the cheese get nice and bubbly. And even then I didn’t care for it. Next time I’d like my pizza hot, please!

Exhibit B: Beto’s Pizza

20131030-231404.jpg
(Foodspotting Image)

2 Responses to “I’d like my pizza hot, please”

  1. panthers76@zoominternet.net November 2, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    There was a place in Cranberry called DiCarlo’s that did the same thing. They are a Wheeling staple. Needless to say, they last less than a year. I like my cheese brown and bubbly. BTW, I grew up in the South Hills. Beto’s was overrated in my opinion. Guys Pizza on Rt 88 in Castle Shannon was my favorite. I do not know if it is still there.

    • chewmeblog November 2, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to see if it’s still around!

Leave a Reply

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

Running for Solidarity

Our adventures in food and travel

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Pittsburgh Happy Hour

Our adventures in food and travel

Dinner Plan-it

Our adventures in food and travel

Pittsburgh TasteBuds

Our adventures in food and travel

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

adotbrown

Music. Movies. TV. And My Inane Take on Them in Society.

