Raw Honey GIVEAWAY!!

13 May

Raw honey serves as a great alternative to sugar. It adds depth in flavor as well as nutritional value. However, like any fruit or vegetable eating honey “raw” ensures the preservation of important vitamins, minerals and enzymes. Most commercial honeys that you purchase at a typical grocery store it not raw. It has been pasteurized using high heat that kills a lot of the nutrients found in honey. According to Food Safety News (FSN), three-fourths of the honey sold in U.S. grocery stores isn’t really “honey”. In a recent study, FSN found that 76 percent of honey samples bought at grocery stores like Giant Eagle and Kroger had ALL of its pollen removed. And 100 percent of honey sampled from drugstores like Walgreens and Rite-Aid had no pollen. According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), any product that has been so ultra-filtered and pasteurized that it no longer contains pollen isn’t considered to be honey. However, there isn’t much being done about the false labeling of these products. So it’s up to you to make the more informed choices.

Did you know that raw honey has these benefits?

  • In its purest form honey contains vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, and C. As well as magnesium, potassium, calcium, iron and zinc
  • It is carbs in the form of glucose and fructose which boosts energy and reduces muscle fatigue
  • It is an excellent source of antioxidants
  • It can help with allergies by exposing your body to local pollens
  • It has antibacterial and anti-fungal properties

Honey is, of course, an excellent addition to a steaming cup of hot tea but it also adds value to other dishes such as coleslaw, marinades, dressings and smoothies. See below for some awesome smoothie recipes from my pal Maddie.

A great place to buy raw honey is on Etsy. There are so many shops out there that sell a variety of raw honey products. Some shops that I recommend are: Beehive Alchemy, Helen’s Honey Harvest, and Honey Tea Thyme.

Honey Tea Thyme is a very unique shop that sells 100% raw honey in an array of different flavors from mint iced tea to chamomile. I recently purchased a bottle of their ginger honey and I love its flavor. So this week we will be giving away three bottles of the shop’s most popular flavors!

20130512-191155.jpg

Win 100% pure raw honey in Vanilla Spice, Apple and Lemon Thyme flavors.

To enter, you may either 1) Leave a comment to this post explaining why you love honey 2) Subscribe to Chew Me Blog via e-mail and confirm your subscription in the auto-email sent to you 3) Like us on Facebook 4) Follow us on Twitter. Or do all four steps for more chances to win!

Rules: Open to U.S. residents only. Giveaway runs from 5/13/2013 12 AM EST through 5/20/2013 11:59 PM EST. Winner will be receiving three bottles of 100% pure raw flavored honey. One (1) winner with valid entry will be chosen by random.org and I will contact you to coordinate distribution. Winner will have 24 hours to respond or I will choose another winner.

Please note: All opinions of this product are my 100% my own. I purchased my very own bottle of Honey Tea Thyme flavored honey and loved it!

Smoothie Recipes from my pal Maddie

20130512-193300.jpg

20130512-193319.jpg

Carrot Clementine Smoothie
1 cup carrots
juice 2 clementines (or just pulp them with the carrots)
1 cup water
3 tbsp greek yogurt
2 tsp Honey Tea Thyme Ginger honey

Red Cabbage Berry Smoothie
1 cup red cabbage shreds
1 cup frozen/fresh berries (I added three extra strawberries)
3 tbsp greek yogurt
1 cup water
2 tsp Honey Tea Thyme Lemon Thyme honey

Vanilla Spinach Peach
2 cups fresh baby spinach
1 cup peach
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp greek yogurt
1 cup water
2 tsp Honey Tea Thyme Vanilla Spice honey

18 Responses to “Raw Honey GIVEAWAY!!”

  1. Elena Vo May 14, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    Honey is becoming my new favorite sweetener. As so many other people here in the U.S. I’ve been raised on white sugar and other unhealthy sweeteners. Now, being an adult, I consiously am cutting out the unhealthy foods to replace them with organic and natural things. Would love to win this giveaway to make my transition easier!

  2. Elena Vo May 14, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Liiked you on Facebook as Elena Vo and followed on Twitter as @lifesdeepcolors.

  3. passporttobliss May 14, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Not only is honey healthy and a great alternative sweetener, it is delicious!!! What a yummy giveaway! 🙂

  4. Janice May 14, 2013 at 4:39 am #

    I love honey because it’s a healthy sweet alternative and great in smoothies, with oatmeal, on pancakes, etc!!

  5. Brian May 15, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    Since I already like this blog on Facebook I will post a comment instead. I use honey all the time in smoothies and was getting low only to be surprised by my wonderful girlfriend today with a jar of cinnamon honey, looking forward to a smoothie tomorrow morning. I didn’t realize so many favors existed but will need to try others. My favorite smoothie recipe is the banango, made with you guessed it bananas and mango, then honey, yogurt, and some v8 fusion for vegetables mixed in (acai berry being my preference). Thanks chew me blog for the great honey information.

    Brian

    I’m betting this will be the only post from a male on this blog, not sure if that is good or bad 🙂

  6. Carolyn G May 16, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    I love honey because it is a food that helps with so many health issues. I use it for balancing my stomach acid.

  7. manda May 17, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I love honey because it doesn’t mess up your blood sugar as much as other sweetners!

  8. manda May 17, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    I like you on FB!

  9. manda May 17, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    I follow you on twitter.

  10. Danielle T May 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    i lvoe honey bc it makes dessert taste so much better!

  11. mistyfuji May 20, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    I love honey because of all the natural properties and honey tastes great. Honey is also very good for your body & I always drink my tea with a good splash of honey. Thanks for hosting.
    Lisa

  12. mistyfuji May 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    I liked you on FB.

  13. mistyfuji May 20, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    I follow you on Twitter.

  14. mistyfuji May 20, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    I follow your blog via RSS feed. I couldn’t find the email subscribe link. 😦

    • chewmeblog May 20, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Hmmm there should be a floating black “follow” button on the bottom right corner of the page. The RSS will be considered as an extra entry though!

  15. mistyfuji May 25, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    I wonder who won? 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mel-O Pure Honey with No Mess Cap, 32-Ounce « Cooking With Chazz - May 15, 2013

    […] pure honey; clover honey; honey; natural […]

Leave a Reply

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

Running for Solidarity

Our adventures in food and travel

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Pittsburgh Happy Hour

Our adventures in food and travel

Dinner Plan-it

Our adventures in food and travel

Pittsburgh TasteBuds

Our adventures in food and travel

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

a whisk and a spoon

connoisseur of fine cake

adotbrown

Music. Movies. TV. And My Inane Take on Them in Society.

